St Ives to Lands End
Rugged granite cliffs, headlands , the hinterland dotted with prehistoric remains, small fields , a unique and precious landscape.
Gurnards Head Churn Castle to Pendeen Light | Pendeen Light was commissioned in 1900, and automated in 1995. The Light has a range of 16 miles. Now managed by the Trevithick Trust on behalf of Trinity House. More walk details coming soon. Nearby visit the Levant Beam Engine or Geevor Mine Heritage Centre.
Botallack and Wheal Owles Botallack These often photographed engine houses were restored in 1985, with one of the largest amount of money raised from public subscriptions in Cornwall. Now passed into the care of the National Trust, who have also recently restored the imposing Mine Count House. The building now containing a series of fascinating mining exhibits, including some ingots of tin. Read about the famous Botallack Mine Count House Dinner Service. This Service was brought out for dinners following share holders meetings from1843 until the mine’s closure in 1895.
A small plaque marks the Wheal Owles Mining Disaster of 10th January 1893, in which 18 men and 1 boy that lost their lives.
A mass of bluebells and pink thrift in late Spring.
WARNING: Shafts, adits and old mine workings are often unmarked and unfenced- the buildings themselves in a poor state of repair. For your own safety keep to marked paths, do not enter buildings walk over spoil tips, or enter old mine workings. Enjoy your walk.
Carn Galver Mine. Situated prominently by the coast road are the ruined Pumping and Winding Houses of Carn Galver Mine. At its heyday working for tin in the 1870's. Now consolidated by the National Trust. The mine takes its name from the granite outcrop on the landward side of the road The nearby counthouse is now used by the Climbers Club of Great Britain. The nearby cliffs providing some of the hardest, some may say best rock climbing routes in Cornwall. Many are graded as 'hard severe'. With route names such as Zig Zag, Doorway and Commando Ridge.
Legal Notice Copyright Cornish Light
Page updated 2012
Copyright Cornish Light